Me or My Kidneys?

Once upon a time, I debated between my physical well-being and personal finances. It was a tough choice, but my kidneys won, while my bank account suffered.

Today, myself, and my kidneys, can rest assure that we will not be placed in such a predicament.

On Thursday, June 28th, 2012 the U.S. Supreme Court upheld President Obama’s health care act, Patient Protection and  Affordable Care Act, – requiring that all individuals maintain minimal health insurance coverage or pay a penalty fee. An individual mandate of the act exempts those with particular religious beliefs and financial hardships.

“Obamacare,” the popular name given to the act by Republicans – which ironically was taken positively by Democrats – has caused an uproar of enthusiasm amongst the masses.

Conservatives cry loss of freedom, while liberals cheer to good health.

But what is this loss of freedom that is spoken of? What are we, as Americans, losing…other than potentially good health?

Well, according to political blogger David Hogberg of Investors.com, the following is the downside to “Obamacare:”

“You are an employer and you would like to offer coverage that  doesn’t allow your employees’ slacker children to stay on the policy  until age 26? Tough.”

For me, this is an upside. I have a job and I’m offered decent healthcare that I take advantage of. In addition, I’m able to reap the benefits of  my parent’s health care policy. But, I see this a vindication, of sorts – perhaps an apology – for the two years I went without healthcare and was forced to make the hard decision of which comes first – my health or my bank account.

Unfortunately, “slacker children” can be covered. But how about the 26-year-old student who works 30 something hours a week – just enough to not be deemed fulltime, therefore not be allowed the luxury of health insurance via employment. Sure, it’s all fine and dandy until someone breaks a leg…literally. That’s an expensive procedure, folks.

It has always been my belief that healthcare should be a right, and not a privilege. Healthcare should be universal.  However, I say this as a double-covered insured, paying no deductible and a small amount, if any, on prescriptions – pretty nice, right? So lets talk again when I’m over 26.

 

 

Leave a comment